• Categories

  • Follow Dustin’s running journey

    Running Training Log
  • Follow Tracy’s running journey

    Running Training Log

“Haters, they gonna hate”…and lovers are going to love!

Yes, I just quoted a 3LW (3 Little Women) song.  Does anyone else remember that group?  Let me refresh your memory.

Only choosing the classy inspiration for my readers

I have to admit when I was younger I was just obsessed with the song because it was fun to dance to.  And I’m sure I occasionally sang it in reference to mean people at school.  But now as an adult (when did that happen?!), I’m actually pretty impressed with the message.  (Whatever if it was written by some cookie-cutter pop song writers.  I don’t judge.)

The message, of course, is that there will always be people who find fault in what you do or find reasons to criticize you or tell you all the reasons why what you’re doing is stupid and crazy, as if they are experts in the game of life.  Newsflash: No one knows everything, and last time I checked no one could definitively tell you exactly how your life will turn out.  Key word being definitively.  Psychics don’t count.

Anyways, the negative people I’m talking about are what positive people call ENERGY VAMPIRES (no, not sexy Twilight vampires…they’re OK).  The kind of vampires I’m talking about literally suck every last drop of positive and optimistic energy you had, whether it be for an idea, person, or general zest for life, and leave you completely emotionally drained.  I’m sure you have been there!

More like this kind of vampire. BAD! No thanks.

But you know what?  I have finally reached a point in my life where I just don’t care.  Bring on the stupidity and rash decisions!  At least I’ll know I lived and tried.  Tis’ better to hurt from risk than be numb from never changing.

Think of how much energy we, humans, waste on people who drag us down.  Or how much we get caught up in the “drama” of other people’s lives.  Seriously, we have one of the greatest powers of all: the power of choice.  And so often, we forget to use it.  It took me until this past year to wake up and realize how powerful CHOICE is.  We set our lives on autopilot and LET things happen to us, when in reality, we can choose to change how we think or what we’re doing at ANY time.  Yes, any time.

I leave you with a little Jack Johnson to dwell on.  From his song “Wasting Time”:

“But everybody thinks
That everybody knows
About everybody else
Nobody knows anything about themselves
‘Cause they’re all worried about everybody else”

My hope for you is that you spend your time on Earth wisely.  Learn all you can about YOURSELF.  What makes you happy?  What drives you?  What will you want to look back on in your final days?  Until you know yourself, you really can’t be of help to others.

Love those around you.  Encourage others, even if it’s not something you would personally do.  And don’t take matters too seriously.  The things that seem SO tragic now will eventually fade with time.  Life is meant to be fun.  Don’t be the damper on anyone else’s parade.

More to come on this topic in future posts…

Question of the day:  Has anyone ever tried to stop you from going after your goal?  If so, how did you it make you feel?  Did you overcome the negativity and achieve it anyways?

One Response

  1. Doesn’t take a rocket scientist to point what should be obvious to us…..3lw does the message justice lol Thanks for helping me to see that I’ll never be happy seeking the approval of everyone but myself.

Leave a Reply

