• Categories

  • Follow Dustin’s running journey

    Running Training Log
  • Follow Tracy’s running journey

    Running Training Log

Tea with a Conscience

I just wanted to take a minute to highlight one of my FAVORITE tea companies:

CELESTIAL SEASONINGS

Morning Thunder: Black tea with energizing, healthy mate

I normally drink a cup of coffee in the morning with some agave nectar and soy milk.  However, we’ve been out of soy milk for a couple of days, so I’ve turned to another alternative.  As much as I love coffee, if I drink too much/too often, it tends to make my skin inflamed and a little red.

This is just one of the reasons why I have grown to love black tea.  It provides just the right amount of caffeine to give me a jolt of energy and contains antioxidants to keep my skin in check.  I can also drink it plain, unlike coffee, so it takes out the extra sugar and soy.

Sipping it out of my festive PENGUIN NOEL mug

What makes Celestial Seasonings so great are the many initiatives they take as an environmentally conscious company.  They also practice FAIR TRADE, which is so important to me when considering where I buy my coffee and tea.  Both are luxuries that, unfortunately, we can take for granted in such a fast-paced society.  Too often we simply slam down our morning drinks to get out the door without thinking about where it came from.  Even just switching to organic, fair trade, environmentally friendly choices for just ONE day a week would make a huge impact on the lives of those affected by the producing, manufacturing, and distributing processes used to make the product.  Every change, no matter how small, counts.


Reasons why Celestial is so special:

  • 100% All-Natural

    • NO artificial colors or flavors
    • NO preservatives
  • Committed to environmental efforts since 1969 (“Summer of Love” — how fitting!)
  • Boxes are made of 100% recycled paperboard with 35% post-consumer content
  • Support fair wages and sustainable harvests in more than 35 countries
  • “Blendmaster” notes are include on the side of each box, describing that particular tea and what makes it unique
  • An inspiring quote is featured on every box (I’m a sucker for quotes)

Finally, one of the most unique things:

None of their tea pouches include a string or tag!  The first time I saw this I was caught off guard.  It’s such a common practice to dip your tea bag with the string, so when it wasn’t there, I was pleasantly surprised to notice there was actually an explanation.

Apparently, if they were to include the strings, tags, staples, and individual wrappers it would produce more than 3.5 million pounds of waste.  I don’t know about you, but that is A LOT to me, and I’m glad I can at least be a small part in their movement.  Just shows the power of how one small choice can make a big impact.

Next time you’re in the grocery store, I encourage you to check out some of their teas.  Or check out other companies making similar efforts.  Heck, why not check out some coffee companies if you’re not a tea person.  I promise you that you’ll feel great about your decision and smile thinking about how your choice is making the world a better place.

** Don’t forget to check back later for our TEXAS-sized fun post.  You won’t want to miss it! **

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Are you a tea or coffee person?  Or is there another type of morning beverage you prefer?  What are your favorite brands and flavors?

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

2 Responses

  1. SO glad you two turned me on to this company……especially at this moment when Jay’s been asleep for hours and I’m left tossing and turning lol I’m thinking some “Sleepy-time Tea” and some Christmas classics will definitely take care of this problemo lol

    Thanks guys!

  2. hey girl shoot me an email & we can catch up/talk blog. would you call me a nerd if i told you i added you to my google reader! EEK!

    katherine-connell@uiowa.edu OR!
    whatkateate@gmail.com HE HE!

Leave a Reply

