• Categories

  • Follow Dustin’s running journey

    Running Training Log
  • Follow Tracy’s running journey

    Running Training Log

Just Keep Blogging, Just Keep Blogging

“Just keep swimming, just keep swimming”Finding Nemo

Why hello friends!  I just have to say, I give the big-time bloggers some major props for being so consistent with writing multiple blog entries a day for multiple years.  I didn’t realize how time consuming it can be!  Have no fear, though.  We absolutely love it!!  Now, we’re just working on creating a consistent schedule of blogging times.

Anyhoo, here’s a quick recap of some our EATS from the past couple days.

We were a little more adventurous with our breakfast dishes this week! Woohoo!

First up is a very KathEats-inspired breakfast.  A few days ago, she had posted some French toast with warm pears and, no lie, I literally booked it to the kitchen to recreate it!  SO YUMMY! It was my first time actually making French toast too. 🙂

The ingredients:

DSCN3423

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 slices of Sprouts Wheat and Oats bread
  • A splash of vanilla rice milk and vanilla extract
  • A dash of cinnamon and brown sugar
  • A chopped up pear (for topping)

Mix eggs, milk, vanilla, cinnamon, and brown sugar in bowl:

DSCN3424

Place bread in bowl and cover both sides with the mixture:

DSCN3426

Heat on stovetop, flip, plate, top with pears, drizzle with maple syrup, sprinkle more cinnamon, and ENJOY!!

DSCN3428 DSCN3430

We also ate some veggie, rice, and bean wraps.  A STAPLE dish in this house!

Load up a whole wheat tortilla with rice, beans, peppers, onions, avocado, spinach, salsa, and Greek Yogurt.

DSCN3434

Exploding with goodness:

DSCN3437

Mmmmm.

DSCN3440

Oh, hey! Another breakfast surprise and another KathEats-inspired dish:

OATMEAL!!!!

DSCN3458 DSCN3459

Do I dare say, this is perhaps my new FAVE breakfast?  It kept me full and satisfied until lunch time!

To the pot, I added:

DSCN3462

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup rice milk
  • Sprinkle of cinnamon and brown sugar
  • Splash of vanilla extract

Cook on medium heat and swirl around until it reaches your desired consistency.

Pre-toppings:

DSCN3463 With toppings:

DSCN3469 DSCN3492

  • Honey and almond granola
  • Scoop of peanut butter
  • Maple syrup

While I ate oatmeal, Dustin prepared his fave:

DSCN3473

Omelette and pancakes!  He is willing to give oatmeal a chance this week though!  Wahoo!

DSCN3476

FITNESS

Finally, some fitness news.  After a few days of trying to squeeze in running, yoga, and Whittle My Middle, we realized we were totally overwhelming ourselves.  It was our first week working out in a LONG time.

We’ve decided that we’re going to make RUNNING our priority for the next week, really enforcing it as a habit.  Then, we are going to introduce yoga and core exercises each following week.  It seems that in order to make a habit stick, it’s best to focus on ONE thing at a time, which is where we messed up.

Although we are just focusing on running this week, it doesn’t mean we won’t try to fit in other exercises.  We simply won’t stress it to the point where we feel bad if we don’t fit it in.

We also joined 24 Hour Fitness, since our apartment gym has been packed even in the morning now.  This ensures we have NO excuses for not finding the time to work out.  We’re also pretty pumped about the lap pool and some of the classes.  I think it will help us keep focused as we can add some variety to our workouts.

In regards to our running program, we are still doing the Couch to 5K (week 2, baby!).  From now on, however, we are walking/running for 50 minutes 6 days a week.  I read somewhere recently that for the first 20 minutes of running, your body is simply using up its glycogen stores and it’s not until after those 20 minutes that you begin burning fat, which is one of our aims.  So bring on the burn!!!

DSCN3477 DSCN3480

Oh, and we also haven’t been forgetting our daily green smoothies and salads!

DSCN3487 DSCN3489

I’m working on a Ten in 10 update post that will include our first two weeks and give you a glimpse into our progress so far.

Catch ya later!

11 Responses

  1. Looking good biffle! Can’t wait to take all kinds of crazy fun classes at the gym together……my goal is to have a membership there by the 29th because that’s my first day of 20 min/2ish miles of running straight through….noooo walking woohoo! So not only does Jay want to run beside me instead of wating for his turn on the t-mill, but I’m thinking 24 hr fitness’s jacuzzi will be a nice reward for that triumph! Have you noticed that it goes from 8 minutes to 20 in one day! -so excited 😉

    • I did NOT notice that…my lung capacity better be built up by then! LOL I’ve always had exercise-induced asthma and now I’m working on overcoming it without the aid of an inhaler. Woooo!

  2. I just had french toast last night! L-o-v-e breakfast food for any meal!

    • Me too! I can’t believe this was my first time making French toast…I will definitely be doing it again soon!

  3. GOOD CALL on not overwhelming yourself! It is hard to restrain yourself when you see all these great ideas to help get you fit and it is tempting to try to do it all, but that is definitely how you burn yourself out! Trust me, I KNOW!! 🙂

    The eats look good! I wish I had a blender…I am missing out on all the good smoothie action. Have you tried adding some oats to your smoothie? Add like 1/4 cup and let it sit for about 15 min in the fridge before drinking….AMAZING! I make my friend make me smoothies when I visit her- our fave is frozen strawberries, vanilla almond milk, peanut butter and oats and spinach. PBJ in a cup!

    • OK, PB&J in a cup!?! I think I need to try that tomorrow! And I’ve heard about putting oats in but I’ve always been scared to try/didn’t know if I was supposed to let it sit. I would love to make the smoothie more filling, so I’m putting those bad boys in tomorrow. Thanks for the tip! We actually make all of our green smoothies in the Magic Bullet now because our blender broke, and is is WAY easier for cleanup.

    • I am SOOO trying that tomorrow! Thank you!

  4. Hi Tracy!

    I was SO HAPPY to hear from you. Thanks for the compliments on my blog. It’s a total work in progress, but I love it so far. I understand what you’re saying about it being time-consuming, though! Holy man. It just makes me be more efficient during the day.

    I loved our times together at Mano’s, but in hindsight I think I liked the conversation a lot better than the food! It seems like you are so happy and that makes me really happy for you. I’ve always wished you the best and I’m sorry we’ve fallen out of touch.

    Best of luck with your blog and your 5k! You guys are going to ROCK IT…and then you’ll be addicted adrenaline junkies. lol. Please keep in touch and if you don’t mind I’ll add your blog to my list.

    -Michelle

  5. Hook ‘Em!!!! haha sorry had to get that out of the way with your shirt!

    I think it’s good y’all aren’t overwhelming yourselves. It can be really easy to read everything everyone is doing and want to do IT ALL!! Focus is key and running is great! I belong to a 24-hour gym, too, and although homegirl has never lifting weights at 2 a.m., it’s nice to know I could 🙂

    Happy weekend you two!!

Leave a Reply

